| Home | Economy | 2023-05-22

2023 CWSAA Award Recipients

Each year during the CWSAA conference, a highlight is the presentation of the CWSAA Awards.  On April 26, 2023 at the Whistler Conference Centre, eight individuals were recognized for their achievements and contributions to the ski industry in Western Canada.

Pat Boyle

2023 Jim Marshall Leadership Award
Pat Boyle began his ski industry career in the mid-70s at Fortress Mountain, and spent the early part of his career at Big White and Apex Mountain.  While working for a construction company on the Whistler Village Gondola, his talents caught the eye of the Poma of America team, and he soon joined the Poma team.  Pat later became the leader for the Western Division of Leitner Poma Canada and responsible for service, installation, sales and parts in Western Canada.
The recipient of the Jim Marshall Leadership Award is recognized for their exceptional skills and dedication to their chosen profession and has made meaningful contribution to the sport of recreational skiing.  This is a presentation of a personal gift by Rab and Olive Marshall from a trust in memory of Jim Marshall, who did not live long enough to give back to recreational skiing and the joy he experienced in the sport.

Wayne Wiltse

2023 Rod Chisholm Operations & Maintenance Award
Wayne Wiltse started his ski industry career at Apex in 1984, and later joined Poma in lift construction.  After working on the Whistler Village Gondola for Poma, Wayne joined Whistler Mountain in Lift Maintenance.  He has contributed and led many industry committees and is known as a go-to person across the entire industry.  Wayne’s leadership is supported by his ability to maintain a cool head under pressure and the ability to digest and retain a great deal of technical information and to explain things in a simple way that all stakeholders can understand.
The Rod Chisholm recipient would be widely regarded as having high expertise in relation to ski area operations and lifts. They may have ‘worked through the ranks’ and may perhaps be a quiet leader like Rod preferring to remain outside of the spotlight. They are likely an indispensable part of the senior management team within a ski area, or may have made significant contributions in related fields supporting the outdoor operations of a ski area.
In memory of Rod Chisholm, the Scurfield family and Sunshine Village created an endowment to honour a leader who has provided immense contribution and knowledge in the operations and lift maintenance field. Rod spent his entire career of 36 years with Sunshine Village and passed away on July 30, 2021 at the age of 56. His calm and quiet demeanor, intelligence, problem solving skills and devotion to our industry were second to none.

Jana Gainor

2023 Lars Fossberg Excellence Award
Jana Gainor is the General Manager of Murray Ridge Ski Area in Fort St James.  The community she grew up in and the place she learned to ski at.  Jana joined the Murray Ridge Board in 2013. A year later she started working for the ski area as the Assistant Manager, and not long after took over the role as General Manager. Jana’s vision for Murray Ridge was to inject the town and surrounding area with the love of skiing and its culture. Through Jana’s efforts, visitation has increased and this small ski hill has become even more special than it already was.
The Lars Fossberg Excellence Award is presented annually to a manager or supervisor who shows a high degree of initiative and creativity together with the ability to improvise when dealing with the unexpected.  The award recognizes the perseverance and talent of the next generation, and encourages them to contribute to industry leadership in the coming years.  Following his passing in 2001, the Lars Fossberg award was created by Lars’ family in remembrance of a remarkable person, to acknowledge emerging leaders that exhibit the attributes and passion that was Lars.

CWSAA 2023 Peak Performance Recipients
This award is given to individuals whose concept/idea/contribution has provided value to their employer, that furthermore benefits the industry. Each year, the CWSAA Board of Director’s will present the Peak Performance Award to a few deserving recipients that have been nominated by their peers. The 2023 award is the second annual presentation.

Add Photos

Google Adsense